Plans change

This morning was shaping up to be a long one.  It seemed like my son’s nap time wasn’t going to come soon enough.  To pass the time I decided that we would make muffins (really, I’d make muffins while he’d hang out in the baby carrier trying to grab everything).  I have been wanting to make zucchini muffins for a while, so I set out to find a recipe.

Well wouldn’t you know, in the end I made oatmeal muffins and I put my son to bed an hour and a half early!  I still want to make zucchini muffins, so please share if you have a good one.

The oatmeal muffin recipe that I made is from The Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook, 12th Edition.  Now, I always laugh at recipe reviews where the recipe has been rated 5 stars (or just 1 star), but the home cook has changed every single ingredient!  And I always think that I will be different and actually follow the recipe exactly.  Well, not the case!

Sure enough, now that I have changed the recipe (used apple sauce instead of oil), I have myself some disappointing muffins and no way to tell if the problem was the original recipe or just me… Hmm… Well let’s just use this as a lesson for going forward.  If I’m going to comment on the success of a new recipe I really must stick to the original recipe, at least for the first attempt.

If you have a oatmeal muffin recipe that’s good, I’ll take that too!  🙂

Leave a Reply

