A headstart on a New Year resolution

I have been thinking ahead to January 1, 2014.  Before a couple years ago I was never someone who made resolutions.  I figured if I was going to break it before the end of January, why bother making a resolution in the first place.

However, for the past two years I have be “forced” to make resolutions (thank you Grace) and this year in particular I have actually had some success in seeing these resolutions through to completion.  The excitement of success has me wondering what 2014 might bring.

An area of my family life that I often wish to improve upon is meal time.  In particular, the meals that I make.  A resolution for 2013 was to get into the habit of creating meal plans on a weekly basis.  The purpose being to help me with preparing meals so that I rely less on frozen pizza, as well as to reduce the number of times our family resorts to eating out.  The past couple months have seen some improvement in this area.

This meal plan resolution has led me to what I hope to resolve for 2014 and the reason why I am starting this blog.  It is my goal to make (cook, bake, whatever) one new “food” thing a week.  This can be a evening meal or a baked good of some sort or anything else.  Just something new.

It is my intention to use this blog as a way to document the new recipes that I try.  I hope to comment on the success of the recipe as well as to document for myself the success of the resolution (I’m sure that must be one of the letters of S-M-A-R-T goals…).

So why start now when January 1, 2014 is still a month and a half away?  Well… why not?  I know that I want to challenge myself in this area, so why not get a little practice in before the new year begins.

And I already have a new (to me) recipe to share!  Tonight I accomplished 2 things: I used up some leftovers before they went bad (a food resolution for another year…) and I made a new recipe for my family.

Here is the link to the recipe: an easy Chicken Pot Pie.

http://www.food.com/recipe/chicken-pot-pie-151613

I had never before made a chicken pot pie (and really I guess I still haven’t because this one is a bit of cheat).  It was quick, easy and used up leftovers from a rotisserie chicken we enjoyed earlier in the week.  I used the option of the refrigerated crescent roles and added a bit of poultry seasoning to the filling.

Both James and I agree this recipe is a keeper.  Even our 1 year old son, who lately has not been interested in eating chicken, seemed to enjoy it.

So if you find yourself with some leftover chicken that needs using up and not much time to throw dinner together, give this a try!

Leave a Reply

